Lots of Change – 50% of the Members of Planning Commission Are New

As we mentioned earlier we’re still working on trying to piece together a story, if there is one, on what’s happening with the planning commission.  We’ve made inquiries to get baseline information and we’ve also filed a few more Freedom of Information Act Requests.  We’ll keep you informed as we develop insight on this.

Here’s what we have right now.  In a question to the assistant town administrator about the make-up of the commission and the replacements, here’s the response we received from Kim.  Since we’re still trying to piece this puzzle together, we’ll just clip what we have at this point and begin figuring it out as we get enough information to enable us to write up a piece.  As it stands now 50% of the commission is new and that was slated to be higher except for a last minute reversal, after the mayor refused to appoint the chair of the committee. 

The town web site section for committees is not working so we couldn’t get info off that part of www.elkton.org


The Planning Commission is comprised of the following:


Dave Wisman

Robert Litzemberg

Dana Short

Asma Manejwala

Sue Whitaker

Fred Thomas


The last three names are the replacements for the following:

Patricia Voigt

Charles McCoy

Jeff Reynolds


Voigt and McCoy left because their terms were up and Reynolds resigned. According to Article V. of the Charter of the Town of Elkton, “the Mayor shall appoint, subject to the confirmation of the Board, the membership of all boards and commissions of the Town.”  If you have further questions regarding this matter, it would be best directed to the Mayor as he would have the appropriate answers.





2 responses to “Lots of Change – 50% of the Members of Planning Commission Are New

  1. Pingback: Planning Commission Changes Continue « Someone Noticed

  2. Pingback: Planning Commission Changes Continue and We Continue To Wonder? « Someone Noticed

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s